Game 70: VAN 4 NYR 1, Pair of game misconducts change tenor & tone of game
The Rangers lost their second straight in Canada falling 4-1 to Vancouver. A pair of five-minute majors and game misconducts to Chris Kreider (right call) and Brendan Lemieux (are you kidding me) changed the tone and tenor of the second period, leading to one power play goal against. A pair of gift goals against sealed the deal, resulting in the loss. It’s on to Calgary on Friday.
After sitting out one game for a non-negotiate reason, Tony DeAngelo was back in as was Lias Andersson. Connor Brickley and Fredrick Claesson sat this one out. But with CK20 and Lemieux gone in the second period, Quinn rotates three lines, resulting in Andersson seeing just 9:22 of ice time. If he isn’t going to really play, why didn’t he team just leave him in Hartford?
David Quinn Post-Game:
Kreider hit on Pettersson.
Kreider has to control his elbows. I don’t think there was any malicious intent but he made contact to the head and that’s a penalty. The question is whether the hit warrants a suspension. Since to the head, a review could be forthcoming and maybe one game. But Kreider’s history - depending on how you view the Carey Price incident and his goal-crashing past - shouldn’t be a detriment to him if a hearing occurs.
Brendan Lemieux on Antoine Roussel:
Below is what was posted in the blog yesterday. To me, It looked Roussel was injured before he made comtactvand he fell into Lemieux. As such, per the rules below, that should not have even been a penalty, let alone a game misconduct but this may be a case where the player’s reputation resulted in the call.
Friedman writes that an "avoidable" hit will be determined based upon the following criteria:
First, whether the player attempted to hit squarely through the opponent's body and the head was not "picked" as a result of poor timing, poor angle of approach or unnecessary extension of the body upward or outward.
Second, whether the opponent put himself in a vulnerable position by assuming a posture that made head contact on an otherwise full body check unavoidable.
Third, whether the opponent materially changed the position of his body or head immediately prior to or simultaneously with the hit in a way that significantly contributed to the head contact.
Rule 48.1: Illegal Check to the Head – A hit resulting in contact with an opponent’s head where the head was the main point of contact and such contact to the head was avoidable is not permitted.
48.3 Major Penalty – There is no provision for a major penalty for this rule.
48.4 Game Misconduct Penalty – There is no provision for a game misconduct for this rule.
Let me know your views, which I think I know already.